Page 1 of 18 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: MOTUC at Retail Discussion/Speculation/Support Thread

MOTUC at Retail Discussion/Speculation/Support Thread

I am an English teacher, and I am teaching my 6th graders all about comparing and contrasting novels for story elements: plot, characters, conflicts; etc. So as an example I showed MOTU dvd episodes. I played the vintage "Diamond Ray of Disappearance" and 2002's "Lessons" to have students find the major sims. and differences.
    Most kids had no idea what MOTU was so this was a brand new experience for them. Most of them (I teach 100 students in 4 classes, so I'm saying at least 75 of them) thought the shows and characters were awesome! What they said however was really interesting. First off they asked about where they could watch the show... if they were still on CN or anywhere else. They were a little disappointed. Many of the students like the vintage cartoon better surprisingly. Reasons were: 1. The story was easier to understand. 2. He-Man seemed more powerful, they said in 2002 he relied too much on his sword, but in the vintage episodes He really had the power and seemed more heroic. Many did like the animation in 2002, but so many of them really liked the simplicity of the vintage show. Favorite characters? ALL OF THEM! It seems that if the show was put back on these kids would watch it... and I'm certain younger kids would find it to be even cooler. A media tie in could def. help to get these guys back in the stores.
    Last note.... All my classes are DYING to see how Keldor's face melted off... I'll hold a special viewing afterschool real soon for that.
    Oh and Lastly I got the Board Of Ed. to approve MOTU in the curriculum... that's just funny!
    I will NEVER believe that Mermista beheaded Mer-Man! You sit on a throne of lies.... and smell of beef and cheese, bio writer!!!!

Yeah man, pass it on to the next generation...

That's awesome!

I only hope some day to see MOTU back at retail...