Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Dell laptop promblem I need helpg

  1. #1
    Heroric Drummer Brian Ozone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    QUEENS
    Posts
    9,385

    Dell laptop promblem I need helpg

    Got a new laptop yesterday. And I went to use it today and it just says dell on the screen. Any way to get that off and get this thing working again..someone help me
    http://Motu.com.co
    Is is now up and live please check it out and spread the word please!!!


    Follow me on Twitter
    BrianOzone
    My feedback threadhttp://www.he-man.org/forums/boards/...or-Brian-Ozone

  2. #2
    Heroic Warrior Piccolo Daimaoh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    1,233
    Have you tried re-installing Windows? If not if you just got it you should still be under warranty.
    A journey that began long ago in a place neither near nor far…
    A story of heroes, passed down through the ages…
    Until now.
    This is our story. These are our heroes…

  3. #3
    Drinking Innocence TheDeviot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Danbury CT
    Posts
    6,129
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian Ozone View Post
    Got a new laptop yesterday. And I went to use it today and it just says dell on the screen. Any way to get that off and get this thing working again..someone help me
    A few things could cause that.

    Bad stick of RAM.

    Defective or failing hard disk.

    Corrupted BIOS crashing before the OS can load.

    A power problem.

    An issue with how the company pre installed Windows. (Most vendors flash the OS, and demos off of a server rather than have someone manually install it the way a DIY would.)

    Of course, anything in most laptops that aren't RAM chips or hard drives are soldered onto the motherboard so if it's bad hardware hopefully it's not that.

    Since you just bought the computer I would call DELL, and return the computer in exchange for another one. If they refuse, the computer IS warrantied, and
    should at the very least be willing to fix the problem.
    The Deviot
    -------------------------
    "No matter how hot you think they are, Someone. Somewhere. Is tired of their crap."

    -?

  4. #4
    Heroric Drummer Brian Ozone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    QUEENS
    Posts
    9,385
    Cant return it....fell off a.truck
    http://Motu.com.co
    Is is now up and live please check it out and spread the word please!!!


    Follow me on Twitter
    BrianOzone
    My feedback threadhttp://www.he-man.org/forums/boards/...or-Brian-Ozone
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote Posted from Android app

  5. #5
    Drinking Innocence TheDeviot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Danbury CT
    Posts
    6,129
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian Ozone View Post
    Cant return it....fell off a.truck
    Well then sorry to say, but you're boned. You'll have to pay a tech
    to do a full diagnostic to figure out if it's the RAM, Hard disk, motherboard, or if it's an issue with the OS.

    If it's RAM, you're looking at the cost of the memory (A wild guess would be it uses DDR3) Figure around $50-$100 depending on speed, and capacity. Plus installation which would be
    around $40-$100 depending on what hourly/task charges the biz you take it to charges. so $100-$200.

    If it's a Hard disk, then you're looking at $80-$100 for a drive (Depending on speed, and capacity). Installation of the drive, ($40-$100) plus the cost of Windows 8 System Builder ($100) if you
    didn't get the chance to back up the recovery partition to a flash drive before your problem. And of course installation of Windows 8 ($100-$300 depending on how long it takes the software to install.)
    You might also have to pay labor charges if Win 8 doesn't automatically assign drivers to all of the components Dell went with.

    If it's a motherboard, you may as well just save $400-$1000 depending on what you do with your computer, and buy a new laptop. Motherboards cost $200-$300 because they're proprietary for the laptops
    they go in, and then you're talking installation (Hourly labor). Many laptops are a pain in the butt to disassemble to the level of mobo installation so expect it to take at least an hour's worth of labor. Then
    the tech still has to reassemble everything, reformat the hard disk in many cases, then reinstall the OS, and Drivers. By the time you get done with all of it price wise it's new computer time.

    If it's just a corrupt OS (Least likely since it's crashing BEFORE it gets to attempt booting Windows), then you're looking at the hard disk scenario minus the price of a hard drive, and installation.
    The Deviot
    -------------------------
    "No matter how hot you think they are, Someone. Somewhere. Is tired of their crap."

    -?

  6. #6
    Heroric Drummer Brian Ozone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    QUEENS
    Posts
    9,385
    I'm shipping it to my cuz in San Fran hell figure it out and fix it. Thanks guys for all your help. Hopefully he can fix it. If not it was free anyway.
    http://Motu.com.co
    Is is now up and live please check it out and spread the word please!!!


    Follow me on Twitter
    BrianOzone
    My feedback threadhttp://www.he-man.org/forums/boards/...or-Brian-Ozone

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •